Critical Thought & Research in Design (Matthew Mallpass)

I found this Lecture particularly useful to me as it opened up a new methodology of research which I hadn’t particularly intentionally looked into using before I engaged in a brief. However, much of what Matthew was saying sounded distinctly like a description of how I would work on my BA and it was very reassuring to hear someone else portraying this methodology as a recognised way of working. When producing ideas and concepts I find it very easy to stumble upon an idea very quickly and I can get blinded by it and choose to ignore any other potential ideas. I then run with the  pre=”the “>origional idea, try it out and often I can find it wasn’t as amazing and groundbreaking as I’d initially thought! However, it was only through trying out the idea creating some mockups or prototypes and running with it that I would establish there where other paths I could potentially look out which would then evolve from my initial idea which I would usually not disregard all together, even though they perhaps didn’t answer the brief as well as I had anticipated.

This to me struck a chord and I instantly recognised that this would be an ideal way for me to develop my research, particularly for my Major project. I like to work very quickly and visually, getting ideas produced on screen almost instantly, I like to see my idea straight away. I can also work fairly quickly with the programs I’m familiar with to create reasonably high quality mockups of my idea. This is particularly useful as I can get quick feed back on my designs and I can try out more than one idea. Then if the idea turns out to be more miss then hit I haven’t wasted too much time and I can look at other potential concepts.

Matthew’s lecture also helped me to look at other idea’s for my Major Project by investigating solutions I wouldn’t normally look at. For example, I am considering producing a typographic piece of work, I want it to communicate well and have a purposeful intent via high legibility. I hadn’t looked at what environment or audience this piece of work would speak to but Matthew’s lecture gave me some ideas suck as, looking to the future, how are we going to communicate in the future? Will type need to be read quicker? how can it be made quicker? Maybe glyphs or ligatures are the way forward? I also want to identify the opposite of what I want to achieve, could I go the opposite way and generate work that isn’t legible at all and just runs on a concept? The kind of things Matthew was saying really gave me a new way of looking at what I research and how I can go about fulfilling my project proposal.

Leave a Reply

